About Us

Mission Statement

1st Ed Credit Union is a member-owned financial institution, serving school employees and their families in Adams, Cumberland, Franklin, Fulton and York counties. In addition, we offer membership to and serve the employees of a variety of our Partner Companies within our area.

Our purpose is to provide our members with quality and diverse services, as well as personal attention to their financial needs. We strive for continued growth while maintaining financial stability.

Our History

On May 12, 1938, the ideas and aspirations of Roger G. Mowrey, D. Frank Stewart, Ralph I. Shockey, and Jerry Allen came together to establish the Franklin County Teachers' Credit Union.

These four individuals will go down in history as our founding fathers. They will carry with them the distinctive knowledge that their initiative laid the groundwork for a thriving cooperative institution, which has tirelessly and enthusiastically served its members - school district employees and their families.

During the credit unions existence it has seen many changes. The most recent change is our name. The board of directors decided that since our membership has grown to include multiple school districts located in many counties that our name did not represent the growing membership. On the evening of April 19, 2010 at the annual membership meeting our name was changed to 1st Ed Credit Union.

We are proud of our credit union as it continues to grow, move forward and serve over 8,000 members.